I thought that it might be good to write down some basic information about how I organize my bike trips. Maybe someone will find it useful when organizing their trip.

ROUTE- MAPY.CZ

I always start with choosing the route on mapy.cz which is my favourite website ever. The bike routes are marked with violet colour ( on tourist map) and there is plenty of them in Czech Republic and around Prague. As a starting point I usually choose a place which is well connected by train and the same applies to finish point ( unless I am coming back to Prague and catch metro). As I am usually biking alone, I try to choose the route in such a way that, if something happens, I can come back to Prague. This means that there needs to be train or bus line somewhere near.

Depending on the connection and the level of difficulty, I bike from 50 to 100km during one trip. I am more into long distances than to speed in general but also I like to know that there is something pretty to see on the way. Very often, I use the photographic version of the map to see which way is nicer and I adjust my rout accordingly. During summer I go further from Prague and I usually make a good research on which part of Czech Republic I should go to. I am a typical cyclotourist so I am not into MTB or any kind of adrenaline version of biking. However, I am fine with climbing some hills and forest paths and all this I can usually check when planning the route on the map. Mapy.cz also show you the inclinations of the chosen route which is very useful if you want to estimate how challenging will be the trip.

mapy.cz
violet is for biking path

route

This is not a paid advertising of mapy.cz but another great feature of this website is that you can create routes and save them to your favourites so you can come back to them later.

Biking routs are very well marked in most of the cases in Czech Republic so it is hard to get lost. It happened to me only the few times for those last few years that I didn’t know where to go and there was no sign, usually the yellow boards with the number are easy to be found. As well as the direction information stating the distance to the next town/village. Bike routes have their numbers so it is easy to navigate on the map, you only need to know the number of the route you want to take.

Nr5gjY
typical bike routs signs

When biking, you can have the app downloaded on your phone and use the maps offline as well. It is very useful when you are in the middle of nowhere and don’t know which way to go.

Sometimes bike route is on the quite a busy local road ( usually marked in yellow with blue number tag), I try to avoid these roads as much as I can and fortunately usually there is a parallel biking path somewhere near.

Finally, sometimes you are good to bike on walking paths marked in green/yellow/blue. They are relatively easy and can be a nice alternative to make your route more scenic or just simply to avoid busier roads. From my experience, red walking paths are usually too challenging to bike on.

This was the first part of my little guide, the next one will be about taking public transport with a bike in Czech Republic.

Ola

Leave a Reply

